EYFS - Free Range Childminding

Go to content

Main menu:

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

We  are required to cover all aspects of the EYFS framework, and provide a  mix of adult led, child led and child initiated activities, but we very  much believe there is learning in everything and will facilitate  activities according to your child current interests, letting your  children lead the way in discovering the world around them and learn  through exploration and play.

Children's development is divided into 7 areas, 3 of them are called 'prime' and 4 are called 'specific'.

The prime areas are:
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Communication and Language
Physical Development

These are the main focus for children aged 0-3. In addition there is a  requirement for a progress check for all children aged 2 which will be  done in partnership with yourselves to identify if your child needs  additional support.

The specific areas are:

Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

Focusing  on the prime areas whilst children are very young allows us to build  strong foundations ready for learning in the specific areas of learning.

We  will continually observe children and use this information to help to  identify how we can facilitate your child`s next steps of development  and plan for activities which may be of interest to them.

Every  child has their own learning journal which you can ask to view at any time.
Back to content | Back to main menu